Paul McCartney

Album Notes

Back To The Egg, released in 1979, was the ninth and final studio album by Wings. Following the release of London Town and the departure of both guitarist Jimmy McCullock and drummer Joe English, two new members joined the band for the recording of Back To The Egg, namely Laurence Juber on guitar and Steve Holly on drums. The album saw Paul work alongside producer Chris Thomas, who trained as a producer during the recording of The Beatles' 1968 classic, The White Album. One of the songs recorded during the Back To The Egg album sessions was the disco-inflected Goodnight Tonight, which would go on to peak inside the top 5 on both sides of the Atlantic but didn't appear on the final album. Two tracks that did make it, however, were Rockestra Theme and So Glad To See You Here, which were recorded under the name Rockestra, and featured contributions by the likes of Hank Marvin of The Shadows, The Who's Pete Townshend, Pink Floyd's David Gilmour, Led Zeppelin's John Paul Jones, John Bonham and The Attractions' Bruce Thomas. The album was another top ten hit and spent six months in the US charts.

Performed by Paul McCartney, Linda McCartney, Denny Laine, Steve Holly, Laurence Juber
Rockestra Line-up (Tracks 8 & 13):
Guitars: Denny Laine, Laurence Juber, Dave Gilmour, Hank Marvin, Pete Townshend
Drums: Steve Holly, John Bonham, Kenney Jones
Basses: Paul McCartney, John Paul Jones, Ronnie Lane, Bruce Thomas
Pianos: Paul McCartney, Gary Brooker, John Paul Jones
Keyboards: Linda McCartney, Tony Ashton
Percussion: Speedy Acquaye, Tony Carr, Ray Cooper, Morris Pert
Horns: Howie Casey, Tony Dorsey, Steve Howard, Thaddeus Richard
Black Dyke Mills Band (Track 11)
All songs composed by McCartney except track 5 composed by Denny Laine, track 17 composed by Johnny Marks.
All tracks produced by Paul McCartney & Chris Thomas except tracks 16 & 17 produced by Paul McCartney.
Engineer: Phil McDonald
Assisted by: Mark Vigars
All tracks published by MPL Communications Ltd except
Track 17 published by by Saint Nicholas Music Publishing Co

This website is using cookies:

View our privacy policy